OSCE Official Statement

OSCE co-chairmen of the Minsk GroupVIENNA, 5 April 2016 – We, the representatives of the OSCE Minsk Group countries (Russian Federation, the United States of America, France, Belarus, Finland, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Turkey), as well as the incoming Austrian OSCE Chair (2017) and the Serbian OSCE Chair (2015), strongly condemn the outbreak of unprecedented violence along the Line of Contact. We extend our condolences to all affected families. We urge the sides to cease using force immediately. There is no military solution to the conflict.

The deterioration of the situation on the ground demonstrates the need for an immediate negotiation, under the auspices of the Co-chairs, on a comprehensive settlement.
The representatives of the Minsk Group member states affirm their support for the Russian, American, and French Co-Chairs’ mediation efforts and welcome their plans to undertake direct consultations with the sides as soon as possible.

MOSCOW (Sputnik)

Co-chairs of OSCE Minsk Group from Russia and France will travel to the conflict zone in self-proclaimed republic of Nagorno-Karabakh in the next few hours, a source at the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe said Tuesday.

Igor Popov and Pierre Andrieu are expected to visit Baku, Yerevan and Stepanakert to discuss the escalation of the conflict with leadership of Azerbaijan, Armenia and Nagorno-Karabakh.
“The Russian envoy will travel to the region without waiting for the meeting of the OSCE Permanent Council, the French co-chair [of the Minsk Group] will fly there as well,” the source told RIA Novosti.